Lab Alumni

Dr. Katharine E. Ankrom (PhD student 2015-2021)
Emissions Inventory, Ohio EPA

Dr. Carl Wepking (Postdoctoral researcher 2018-2019)
Research program manager, University of Wisconsin, Department of Agronomy
cwepking [at]

Dr. Walter S. Andriuzzi (Post-doctoral researcher 2015-2018, Visiting scientist 2018)
Editor for Nature Communications
ws.andriuzzi [at]

Dr. E. Ashley Shaw (MSc and PhD student 2011-2018)
Postdoctoral Scholar, University of Oregon, Institute of Ecology and Evolution

Dr. Elizabeth Bach (Post-doctoral researcher 2016-2018)
Ecosystem Restoration Scientist at Nachusa Grasslands with The Nature Conservancy in Illinois

Dr. Tandra Fraser (Post-doctocal researcher 2013-2016)
Research Fellow in rhizosphere and soil biodiversity, University of Reading, UK

Dr. Matthew Knox (Post-doctoral researcher 2013-2015)

Pilar Andrés (visiting Marie Curie researcher, 2013-2015)

Keith Post (PhD student 2015)

Dr. Zachary Sylvain (PhD 2013)
NSERC VF Postdoctoral Fellow
Canadian Forest Service, Atlantic Forestry Centre

Dr. Kelly S Ramirez (Post-doctoral researcher 2011-2013)
Postdoctoral Fellow
Netherlands Institute of Ecology, Department of Terrestrial Ecology

Dr. Martijn Vandegehuchte (Post-doctoral researcher, 2011-2013)
Postdoctoral Fellow
Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research WSL

Dr. Pablo García Palacios (visiting Post-doctoral researcher, 2012-2013)
Marie Curie Postdoctoral Fellow
Centre d’Ecologie Fonctionnelle et Evolutive, France

Marie Dam (Visiting student, summer-fall 2012)

Tracy Smith (M.Sc., 2011) Associate Scientist at Integral Consulting

Dr. Uffe Nielsen (Post-doctoral researcher, 2008-2011)
Research Lecturer, Hawkesbury Institute on the Environment
University of Western Sydney
Webpage Email:

Dr. Breana Simmons (Post-doctoral researcher, 2005-2009)
Assistant Professor, Biology
East Georgia College
Tel: (+1) 478 289 2084; Email:

Sarah Atherton (REU student, 2006-2008)

Dr. Youngkee Lee (Visiting scientist, 2006-2008)

Dr. Ed Ayres (Post-doctoral researcher, 2005-2008)
Scientist, Soils
National Ecological Observatory Network, Inc.
Tel: (+1) 720 746 4883; Email:

Sanjay Advani (Research Assistant, 2005-2007)
Golder Associates

Dr. Johnson Nkem (Post-doctoral researcher, 2003-2005)
Global Director/Project Coordinator, TroFCCA

Dr. Emma Broos (Post-doctoral researcher, 2003-2005)

Dr. Mark St. John (Ph.D, 2005)
Ecosystem Processes
Landcare Research, New Zealand

Dr. Andrew Parsons (Post-doctoral researcher, 1997-2003)
Natural Environment Research Council

Dr. Gina Adams (Post-doctoral researcher, 1999-2002)

Ana Child (M.Sc., 2002)

Nicole DeCrappeo (M.Sc., 2002)
Director of the Northwest Climate Adaptation Science Center

Dr. Dorota Porazinska (Post-doctoral researcher, 1999-2001)
Fort Lauderdale Research and Education Center
University of Florida

Dr. Debbie Krum (1999-2001)

Dr. Robert K. Niles (Post-doctoral researcher, (1993-2001)

Amy Treonis (Ph.D, 1999)
Department of Biology
University of Richmond

Dr. Laura Powers (Post-doctoral researcher, 1993-1998)
Agriculture & Food Security Advisor
USAID Office of Foreign Disaster Assistance

Ericha Courtright (M.Sc. 1996)

Sarah Spaulding (Ph.D., 1996)